Total Tracks 21
Total Length 1:44:27
Songs In The Key Of Life
1. Love's In Need Of Love Today (7:06)
2. Have A Talk With God (2:42)
3. Village Ghetto Land (3:25)
4. Contusion (3:46)
5. Sir Duke (3:52)
6. I Wish (4:12)
7. Knocks Me Off My Feet (3:36)
8. Pasttime Paradise (3:27)
9. Summer Soft (4:14)
10. Ordinary Pain (6:16)
11. Saturn (4:54)
12. Ebony Eyes (4:10)
Songs In The Key Of Life (Disc 2)
1. Isn't She Lovely (6:34)
2. Joy Inside My Tears (6:30)
3. Black Man (8:27)
4. Ngiculela - Es Una Historia - I Am Singing (3:48)
5. If It's Magic (3:12)
6. As (7:08)
7. Another Star (8:08)
8. All Day Sucker (5:05)
9. Easy Goin' Evening (My Mama's Call) (3:55)
Released 28/09/1976
Carl's Rating
Format CD
Label Motown
Catalog No TD2 6115
Genre R&B: Soul
Primary Genre R&B: Soul
Reviews AMG EXPERT REVIEW: Stevie Wonder's classic period peaked with Songs in the Key of Life. Not coincidentally, it's also the peak of his ambition and excess, spreading out over two albums, plus a bonus EP (now part of the last disc on a two-CD set), which gives him plenty of space to explore (or indulge, depending on your charity). And there are some superbly indulgent moments here, yet this is the kind of double album where those excesses add to the overall effect, making the immediate songs - "Sir Duke," "I Wish," "Isn't She Lovely" - shine all the more brightly, and providing little detours to explore on repeated listens. Musically, this is more consolidation than progression, adding elements of the direct Talking Book to the pseudo-psychedelic Fulfillingness' First Finale, leaving the record as a grand, sprawling demonstration of Wonder at his very peak. Though he tried to move further and farther, he never equaled this, which shines as brightly on its hits as it does in its eccentricities. - Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Generated by CATraxx - 06/09/2011 11:56 PM