Total Tracks 10
Total Length 59:45
1. Glossolalia (5:31)
2. Serious Wreckage (6:03)
3. Heart Attack (4:15)
4. Kansas (8:54)
5. Nothing (3:09)
6. Haunted Man (5:38)
7. Smackin' The Clowns (10:04)
8. That's What Love's All About (5:13)
9. Mascara Tears (5:43)
10. Rebecca (5:15)
Released 12/09/2000
Carl's Rating
Format CD
Label Magna Carta
Catalog No MA 9043 2
Genre Rock: Progressive Rock
Primary Genre Rock: Progressive Rock
Reviews AMG EXPERT REVIEW: This solo offering from Kansas' lead vocalist was released in conjunction with that band's fine comeback, Somewhere to Elsewhere. This is an exploratory collection of songs that range from the metallic title track (thanks to Mike Slamer's explosive guitar playing) to the aggressive dance number "Heart Attack" and periodic progressive and symphonic meandering that parallels those of his main band. The song "Kansas" combines Magical Mystery Tour psychedelia with a haunting exorcism-like vibe that exemplifies this album's recurring theme of rebirth; Steve Walsh seems to be thumbing his nose at the demons and habits that have entrapped him for so many years. The more plaintive "Nothing" with its steel guitar and comparable vocals actually recalls early-'70s Neil Young, and "Mascara Tears" is reminiscent of mid-'70s Electric Light Orchestra. Co-producing this smorgasbord of styles along with Walsh is Magellan keyboardist Trent Gardner. Bassist Billy Greer who's appeared with Kansas and Streets continues his longtime association with Walsh on this recording. — Dave Sleger

Generated by CATraxx - 06/09/2011 11:56 PM